Neil deGrasse Tyson Tests His Ability to Persuade

He opens the first chapter of his book “Astrophysics for People in a Hurry” with:

In the beginning, nearly 14 billion years ago, all the space and all the matter and all the energy of the known universe was contained in a volume less than one trillionth the size of the period that ends this sentence.

Are you persuaded?

Views: 199

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

fuck no, i am not persuaded...does it look like i have recently fallen off of the turnip truck?

Frankie, what about the Electric Universe did not persuade you? Electrical energy is so powerful, I was persuaded. Besides, something from nothing still does not make sense to me. 

~ 3,500 lightning strikes hit the UK and Ireland over three hours a...

The Telegraph,  18 Jul 2014

Interesting pix, Joan.

I studied electrical engineering and won’t be surprised if the lightning-struck region has underground metallic deposits.

If a web search tells me it does, the liightning would neutralize differences in electric charges between the clouds and the ground.