Isaac Asimov

The Russian-born American biochemist and writer Isaac Asimov, (Jan.2 1920 - Apr.6 1992). Published his 300th book, Opus 300, in December 1984; his 200th book appeared in 1979. He has written popular works on science and the history of science, as well as a number of science-fiction classics, including I Robot (1950), The Foundation Trilogy (1951-53), and The Gods Themselves (1972), which won both the Hugo and Nebula awards. Asimov received a doctorate in biochemistry from Columbia University in 1948 and since 1949 has been a professor of biochemistry at Boston University. A Choice of Catastrophes (1979) demonstrates his effective approach in writing about science for children and nonscientific adults: he examines various notions about how the world might end, incorporating geology, bacteriology, social history, and astrophysics in his discussion. Recent Asimov works include In The Beginning (1981), in which the biblical book of Genesis is explored from both the fundamentalist and the evolutionist point of view; and The Measure of the Universe and Counting the Eons (both 1983). Asimov has also published volumes of his autobiography.

Views: 14


You need to be a member of Atheist Nexus to add comments!

Join Atheist Nexus

Support Atheist Nexus

Supporting Membership

Nexus on Social Media:

Latest Activity

Qiana-Maieev commented on James Yount's group Music Lovers
10 hours ago
Joan Denoo commented on Daniel W's group Godless in the garden
11 hours ago
Joan Denoo commented on Ruth Anthony-Gardner's group Hang With Friends
14 hours ago
Joan Denoo commented on Ruth Anthony-Gardner's group Hang With Friends
14 hours ago
Joan Denoo replied to Daniel W's discussion Does Humus Exist? New Scientific Evidence Suggests Not. in the group Godless in the garden
14 hours ago
Joan Denoo posted a video

2016-04-19 My Spokane Garden

Spring came early this year, and put on quite a show.Lilacs and tulips start the year's performance.
17 hours ago
Profile IconVince, Dan, Katie Holsomback and 1 more joined Atheist Nexus
17 hours ago
Scott Daniel updated their profile
18 hours ago

© 2016   Atheist Nexus. All rights reserved. Admin: Richard Haynes.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service